paris: the city of lights

Arc de Triomphe / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

Everybody loves Paris. The first time I went to Paris I was confused by everyone’s love for it, and thought it would be better off named “the city of garbage”. It was dirty, gross + crowded. This time, I couldn’t believe I was in the same city. It was beautiful, magical and full of lights, and the only way it could have been better is if my boyfriend was there to share the experience with me (mushy, I know). The experience was completely different. We took our time soaking in the city (+ the sun). Although I didn’t make it into any of the museums this time, revisiting the city reminded me of how inspired I was walking through the Louvre last time, and the city alone seemed to do that this time around.

Paris from Notre Dame / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

eclair / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

bridge of locks / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

The first day in the city we climbed Notre Dame for 5euro (so cheap!) and had one of the best views of Paris, starred in awe at how large and detailed the Arc de Triomphe is, and ate delicious pastries (no pastry will ever compare). We also did tons of walking and admiring the architecture, river, flowers + all the street vendors.

Detail of Eiffel Tower / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

Ladurée / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

On Sunday we watched planes fly over our apartment for the Bastille Day parade and then made our way to the Eiffel Tower to climb it (also for only 5euro). We climbed 1,021 stairs that morning, and it was the most exciting thing. Crazy that I can cross that off my bucket list at 22 years old. I’ve been obsessed with that tower ever since I can remember (I guess who isn’t?), I even wrote a 10 page report on it in high school (call me an expert…). Afterwards we figured we had worked off enough calories to visit Ladurée and get Paris’s best macaroons – I recommend trying the rose petal flavor! Later that night we went back to the Eiffel Tower to watch Bastille day fireworks. This was the coolest thing I’ve ever experienced. Being present at another country’s national holiday is so exhilarating, and even emotional really. The fireworks were set to music, and absolutely stunning against the lit up and sparkling tower. It’s really obvious why it’s the city of lights.

I still can’t believe this is real life.

3 responses to “paris: the city of lights

Leave a Reply

