branding bermondsey: part 01

branding bermondsey: part 01 / bermondsey street / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / bermondsey street / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

Today is an exciting day here on the blog and I hope you’re all ready for this! Today is part one of my collection of branding images I captured from my time in London this summer. Some images from other countries/cities may or may not appear as well, so keep your eyes on this blog! Part one of this collection I’m calling “branding bermondsey” is one that really brings up some memories for me. Bermondsey street is one I’m quite familiar with, as I walked it many many times on my way to and from work. (can you tell I miss it already? I haven’t even been back a month.) The area is really quite beautiful and charming, and probably one of my favorite parts of London.

branding bermondsey: part 01 / HIDE / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / HIDE / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / HIDE / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / HIDE / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

I walked past The Hide everyday and the first time I saw it I knew I was in the right place. I instantly fell in love with the branding, and that fantastic “H”. The typography and the negative space created within that square on the window design is so well balanced and beautiful.

branding bermondsey: part 01 / Tanner & Co / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / Tanner & Co / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

Tanner & Co has that wonderfully rustic & modern look that everyone is dying for these days. The bold black sans-serif type against the grainy washed out and natural wood makes a nice statement. I would say this is my favorite branding on Bermondsey street.

branding bermondsey: part 01 / wool yard / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

branding bermondsey: part 01 / wool yard / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

The woolyard has a similar feeling to Tanner & Co, though more modern boasting of completely lower-case sans-serif type that is rounded and soft, yet rough in feeling.

branding bermondsey: part 01 / The Woolpack / london / www.mynameismeganlouise.wordpress.com

I particularly enjoyed the type seen used here for the identity + signage for The Woolpack, it reminds me of letterpress. Check out that “K”, how nice is that little curve?? I adore it. The illustrated design on the windows are nice and whimsical feeling as a contrast to the stiff blocks that the letters of the building sit on, creating a nice dynamic in the brand.

That’s all for today, folks. There’s so many images I don’t want to give them all away and overwhelm everyone at once! Be sure to stop back to see more, I promise you won’t be disappointed. What do you think of the collection so far? What’s your favorite? Be sure to share away!

Cheers

Leave a Reply

